Scroll Top

Tinubu swears in Nigeria’s new ministers

President Bola Ahmed Tinubu

President Bola Tinubu on Monday swore in 45 ministers who were earlier cleared by the Senate.

The inauguration was held at the State House Conference Center, Abuja.

The event was attended by dignitaries such as Vice President Kashim Shettima, Senate President Godswill Akpabio, Speaker of the House Representatives Tajudeen Abass and Secretary to the Government of the Federation, George Akume.

The ministers were sworn in in batches but were all inaugurated on Monday.
Also at the ceremony was Secretary to the Government of the Federation, George Akume and chairman of the Nigeria Governors Forum and Kwara Governor Abdulaziz Abdulrahman.

The ministers were sworn in nine batches, with the first batch comprising the Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice, Lateef Fagbemi, Minister of State for Labour and Employment, Nkiruka Onyejeocha, Minister of State Gas in the Ministry of Petroleum Resources, Ekperikpe Ekpo, Minister of Women Affairs, Uju Kennedy, and Minister of Education, Tahir Maman.

The second batch comprised of coordinating Minister of Health and Social Welfare, Ali Pate; Minister of Foreign Affairs, Yusuf Tuggar; Minister of State (Oil); Ministry of Petroleum Resources, Heineken Lokpobiri; Minister of Water Resources and Sanitation, Joseph Utsev, and Minister of Agriculture and Food Security, Abubakar Kyari.

The third batch included Minister of Humanitarian Affairs and Poverty Alleviation, Betta Edu; Minister of Sports Development, John Enoh; Minister of Aviation and Aerospace Development, Festus Keyamo; Minister of Works, Dave Umahi; and Minister of Niger Delta Development, Abubakar Momoh.

The fourth batch comprised of Minister of Solid Minerals Development, Dele Alake; Minister of Innovation Science and Technology, Uche Nnaji; Minister of Transportation, Alkali Sa’id; Minister of Industry, Trade and Investment, Doris Anite; and Minister of Defence Mohammed Badaru.